REM will release a collection of singles from its early days

REM 7IN 83 88

REM It will allow its followers to review its beginnings, at the time when this group was considered one of the best kept secrets of the American alternative scene. On December 9th, the Capitol and IRS labels will release a boxset that will include the 7 ″ vinyl singles that the band released early in their career. This special collection will be released under the name 7IN - 83-88, a box that will contain eleven seven-inch vinyl with the singles that the group released between 1983 and 1988, when they were part of the IRS Records label catalog.

All singles are released as replicas of the originals keeping artwork of each one of them and in addition two additional singles that were only published in the United Kingdom and that will be unreleased for the rest of the world are included in this collection: "Finest Worksong" brings on its B-side a live version of "Time After Time "and also the double single that includes the songs:" Wendell Gee "," Crazy "," Ages of You ", and" Burning Down ".

Among the songs rescued in this special collection are real REM pearls such as 'Radio Free Europe', '(Don't Go Back To) Rockville' or 'Fall on me', themes that laid the foundations for the successes they would achieve years later. This edition also rescues the natural and raw sound of those recordings during the eighties.

The content of the article adheres to our principles of editorial ethics. To report an error click here!.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.



  1. Responsible for the data: Miguel Ángel Gatón
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.